World Anti-Doping Agency To Lift Ban On CBD.

The pain-relieving, non-psychoactive cannabis compound known as CBD is to be taken off WADA’s banned substance list in 2018.
“Cannabidiol is no longer prohibited,” World Ant-Doping Agency(WADA) said in a Sept. 29 statement, warning, however, that they will not discontinue the ban on THC. In theory, CBD Isolate products will be able to provide countless of athletes access to CBD’s myriad of benefits.

Earlier this year, Dr. David Bearman, a leading pioneer in the medical marijuana field, wrote in HuffPost saying he found CBD to be a “powerful anti-epileptic, antidepressant, anti-inflammatory, anti-nauseate, sleep aid, muscle relaxant, sedative.” and many more things.

A step in the right direction?

WADA’s recent announcement enables more and more athletes to look into the uses of CBD and harvest some of the claimed therapeutic purposes. It has proven to have anti-inflammatory properties — which in theory means it can relieve pain — and also is supposed to reduce anxiety dramatically, and possibly strengthen bones.

Plenty of former NFL players, too, have harvested the benefits of CBD, and the use of Cannabis products to aid their game. There is a new study led by Tennessee Titans linebacker Derrick Morgan (Not In Picture) who sat down with CBS News to talk about the use of Cannabis products in the NFL. Watch the video, and read more about it more in our post here.

There are plenty of other athletes who might be glad to hear about the ban lift such as Nate Diaz, who drew worldwide attention after being watched vaping CBD during a post-fight press conference. “It’s CBD,” said Diaz at the time. “It helps with the healing process and inflammation, stuff like that.”

His brother, Nick Diaz has also been a significant cannabis advocate in the mixed-martial arts world. They have become well known for their open minds in the use of cannabis during their training routines.

The statement is to go into effect on Jan. 1. 2018 Until then, CBD is to remain prohibited under the parameters established by the list created in 2017.